Roasted Shrimp Scampi

Roasted-Shrimp-Scampi-served-on-pasta

Recipe adapted from Roasted Shrimp Scampi

courtesy of Woman’s Day Magazine, October 2012

Hearst Communications, Inc.

Mark likes shrimp, and he’ll eat it cooked just about any way possible.  I usually make shrimp scampi in a big skillet on top of the stove, that is until I found this recipe.  This shrimp scampi dish is so easy to make, and Mark likes it better than the way I used to make it, so it’s a win-win.

The actual recipe uses sweet cherry peppers, but I never seem to have any on hand when I want to make this dish.  As a matter of fact, every time I have made it has been different because I just use whatever we have that I think will work with shrimp.  Tonight’s version had halved grape tomatoes and chopped green bell peppers.  Last time I used chopped orange bell peppers and zucchini.  As long as there is shrimp in the dish, I don’t really think that Mark could care less about the rest of it.  So I just go in the kitchen and experiment.  If you do not have wine, you can substitute chicken broth (I like the wine better), but whatever you do, don’t skimp on the garlic.  Six cloves of garlic may sound like a lot,  but the garlic is really what makes the dish taste so delicious.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

8 ounces linguine
1 1/2 pounds large peeled and deveined shrimp
2 Tablespoons olive oil
6 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parley, roughly chopped
1/2 cup small sweet red cherry peppers, quartered (I used red bell peppers and cherry tomatoes)
1/2 cup dry white wine
salt and pepper

Directions

Roasted-Shrimp-Scampi-ingredients-in-pan

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Cook the pasta according to package directions.

 

Roasted-Shrimp-Scampi-mixed-before-cooking

2. In a large baking dish, combine shrimp, oil, garlic, parsley, peppers, salt, and pepper.

 

Roasted-Shrimp-Scampi-cooked

3. Roast until the shrimp are opaque, about 12-15 minutes.

 

Roasted-Shrimp-Scampi-served-on-pasta1

4. To serve, place pasta on the plate or serving dish and pour the roasted shrimp scampi on top.

Leave a Reply

